• So I hear you’re bored.

    That's okay. Some of history's greatest heroes were once bored, and they went on to do great things. You? Probably not so much. You might be able to score a coffee from Starbucks or something if you can get out of bed before they close. In the meantime, why not read some of these sweet entertainment reviews? Maybe you'll find something to help you fight back against the boredom. Maybe you'll find coffee. Probably not coffee. But maybe.
  • Medium of choice

  • All your favs

  • Creative Commons License
    Faceplant by Enosh, Elrood, and Tophat is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
    Based on a work at faceplantreview.wordpress.com.
    Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://faceplant.co.

Dear E3

Dear Electronic Entertainment Expo:

Hey, it’s Elrood, your faithful follower.  I always get excited for you, ever year!  New games, new consoles, industry trends, giant enemy crabs, the list goes on.  I’m with you on this year too, excited.  But I have some concerns.  I see things…happening that YOU are all excited about, but it’s leaving the rest of us kind of worried.  There’s so much to like, so I’m writing to you in hopes that we can discuss a few things.  But don’t fret E3!  Positives and negatives.  I just want you to have a good show and really knock our socks off this year.

The first thing we need to discuss is new consoles.  Microsoft and Sony you guys are up first, because you’re basically trying to do the same thing.  Which is beat down the other guy.  Fair enough!  I commend both of you for sticking to your guns and saying new consoles will not be discussed this E3.  To be fair, I’m not sure I believe any of that.  But I am heartened that you’re taking the time and not rushing these things.  The temptation will be there to be first (well, second, Nintendo is going to be first, but they’re such a different breed at this point I’m not sure it matters), especially since part of the reason Xbox has outperformed Playstation in this generation is because it had a one year head start.  This cycle isn’t quite ready to go yet (look at the awesome games coming NEXT year!) so we don’t need to make this a sprint.  But I have a couple of requests:

(Insert Monday Night Football theme here)

  • Both the new Xbox and Playstation NEED to carry over account information.  Achievements, user names, and any downloadable games.  Physical backward compatibility would be nice, but I realize that it’s expensive and will probably get cut.  I’m ok with that.  But I am not ok with having paid for sweet Xbox Live arcade games like Trials Evolution or Shadow Complex and then having them no longer function.  Consoles are just basically PC’s at this point, and I purchased that software.  I’m scared because I can see the press release in my head already “Due to issues in running older software, any digital titles purchases will not carry over…..”.  Don’t be that guy, Sony and Microsoft.  And if either of you are dumb enough to not have achievements or trophies carry over….well, I really can’t help you.  But I don’t think you are!
  • We live in a social age.  I’m constantly connected to my friends.  I like them showing them things.  I can take a picture or video with my phone and have it up on the internet in seconds if I see or do something awesome in real life.  However, because I’m using a fake name to write about games on the internet, I don’t do that many awesome real life things.  However, I do perform extreme feats of awesome in video games.  The ability to open a menu in ANY GAME, rewind a few minutes, and record a clip that can be shared instantly on the internet and on the console itself to friends of my choice would be huge.  Pull off a sweet headshot?  Shoot down a helicopter with a tank in a Battlefield match?  Be able to show people and not just tell.  Bigger hard drives and faster internet speeds make this possible.  I think we’re ready.

Break it down Mario!

So, Nintendo!  I’ll admit, I have no idea what the hell you’re doing.  I used to love you.  Now….well I mean, I wish you the best, but you’re just not that interesting to me anymore.  I think you have the most riding on this E3.  For you, it’s about showing how this Wii U is the next big thing.  The Wii was a massive success, but how many of those Wii owners are going to upgrade?  Probably not as many as you’d like unless what shows up is truly amazing.  I’m not sure what kind of things you have planned for the tablet controller.  But smacking the screen at various piles of shovelware is NOT the way to go.  Nintendo my friend, you’ve always had the most unusual ideas.  Show me SOMETHING we’re not expecting or the success of your first system is going to be hard to duplicate.

I’m not worried about most of the games.  Assassins Creed 3, OH MY GOD YES PLEASE.  Borderlands 2, Halo 4…..all good.  But hey, EA?  Yeah, you made the letter, congratulations!  I have great concern about a franchise near and dear to my heart, Dead Space.  I loved the first two games.  LOVED THEM.  Survival horror with a little bit of action and AMAZING atmosphere, perfect.  It’s why I loved Resident Evil 4.  So I don’t quite follow your Dead Space 3 has a cooperative mode plan. Let’s take a look back.  Everybody loves Resident Evil 4!  Capcom is riding high and us nerds are chomping at the bit for Resident Evil 5.  The game comes out and….well, it was “ok”.  It was an action game.  The atmosphere was mostly gone and, worst of all, suddenly in a game about being scared you had an AI PARTNER with you at all times.  That said silly things and just carried ammo.  It totally killed the scary part.  So EA, you bring Dead Space along, and it’s a return to what I loved.  Tight spaces, story that was out there but still possible to follow, and SCARY.  Alone!  People laud Dead Space as the true successor to the survival horror genre since Resident Evil abandoned it, we’re excited for more in Dead Space 3….and you announce a COOPERATIVE MODE?  Now, I’ve heard that it’s not forced upon us ala RE5.  That if you play single player that character will just not be there.  That’s good.  But I worry EA.  That you thought this was a good idea.  That the development time to put in the cooperative mode could take away from the rest of the campaign.  That what happened to Resident Evil is happening to you.  I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt this time.  I will play Dead Space 3 no matter what, but please please, PLEASE.  When I see this game at E3, I want to feel scared.  Take a look at whatever footage you have set for the presentation right now, I’ll wait.  Am I going to be freaked out?  Am I going to be in Isaac Clarke’s shoes again, wondering if I’ll ever again meet anybody who isn’t insane, dead, or worse?  If the answer is no…..well, that’s truly scary.

So there you go E3, just a few suggestions and concerns.  I’m looking forward to seeing you next week, it’s a wonderful time of year.  As Roland from Borderlands would say “It’s like Christmas!”.

Sincerely:

Elrood

Isaac, it’s ok buddy, let’s hope EA doesn’t ruin your games…..

33 Responses

  1. Me chifla dicha site. ¿Seriaas Tan Amable De
    darme a conocer unos pocos sugerencias dee
    publicacion?. Muchas Gracias.

  2.  Has planteado el asunto de manera insipido, no ciertamente
    creo que tte hayas documentado para hacer comentarios. Decepcionante.

  3. Resultan unas ideales increiblemente excelente que
    tienen que ver con bloguear. Has tocado pocos temas importantes
    aqui. De cualquiera manera prosigue escribiendo.

  4. Alucinante!! Unos muy buenos puntos dee vista!
    Ciertammente apreciaria que tu escribieras mas articulos ademas los
    demas post de la pagina es muy valioso.

  5. He localizado este pagina de azar y ahora lo pongo a bookmarked.
    Bastante Bueno descubrimiento. Mis Mayores Felicitaciones.

  6. Tampoco he conseguido resistirme reflejar mi opinion. Excepcionalmente bien escrito

  7.  Me siento integramente en sintonia con cada uno
    de los temas que has escrito, pese a que no en absolutamente todos.
    Un forum perfecto.

  8. Es harto facil descubrir uun asuntito en la internet comparado con los libros tradicionales, tal como yo hee descubierto este fragmento een este Web blog.

  9.  No concuerdo een sintonia con ninguna idea de lo que has publicado.
    No hay informacion ni parece ser que te hayas informado con anterioridad de postear.

  10. ¿Verdaderamente opinas eso? Ni Siquera me parece
    que la posteo que has redactado resulte verdadera. De todas maneras
    ingeniosamente publicacion.

  11.  No coincido de acuerdo con ninguna idea de lo que has posteado.
    No hay documentacion ni parece que tte hayas documentado antes de postear.

  12.  ¿Donde pudiera encontrar mejor info en relacion a ese argumento?
    Me interesa bastante y lo has posteado excelentemente aceptablemente.
    Lo Aprecio Mucho.

  13. Felicidades y gracias por el total de la posteo que has narrado.
    Me agrada este forum! Acaso revisazra el diseño y
    estilo, si birn el resto magistral!

  14. Que pasada!! Unos muy bien dichos puntos de opinion! De
    verdad apreciaria que tu redactaras mas comentarios ademas el resto de contenido de la sitre ees muy provechoso.

  15. ¿En serio estas pensando eso? ¿O unicamente has querido engendrar
    polemica para conseguir post? No me da la impresion de qque sepas nada
    deel asunto que has apuntado.

  16. Me apasiona de verdad lo que escribis. Esta clase de tarea inteligente y una
    exposicion simple!! Seguid posteando posts de modo tan util tios, yo he incluido esto a mi lista favs.

  17. Me complace sobradamente tu modo de postear. Este webblog de manera clara a
    favs! Felicidades por ell forum!

  18. ¿Que tal todo? He estado entrando tu pagina web durante mucho tiempo hasta hoy por
    hoy y finalmente tengo el valor de escribir desde Caada dde calatrava .Solamente
    me gustaria comentarte quue sigas creando tan estupendo tarea!

  19.  La documentacion que ofreces para nada resulta ser actualizada y para nada has comparado la aseeoria sobre la que blogueas.

    Me ha chasqueado muchisimo el presente post.

  20. De hecho no he podiddo resistirme a dar mi opinion. Excepcionalmente bien dicho

  21.  Me apasiona la blog. ¿Serias Tan Amable De decirme pocos
    recomendaciones de diseño y estilo?. Felicidadeds Y Gracias.

  22. Mi Enhorabuena debido a tu pagina web. ¡Me encanta!
    Dicha blog. Va de tiron a favoritos.

  23. Inmediatamente cogere su fuente rss ya que no he podido vver tu direccion electronica para hacer una subscripcion a
    sus hyperlinnk o servicio e-newsletter . ¿ alguna direccion?
    Por favor dejame comprender como podria hacerlo.
    Solamente me gustaria recibir actualizaciones. Gracias.

  24. Gracias a causa de tu blog. ¡Me agrada!
    Dicha sitio web. Lo meto de cabeza a preferidos.

  25. Aun No me presento demasiado en sintonia con lo que posteas.
    Me Da La Impresion De que el web-post no se encuntra suficientemente informado.

  26. El estilo y diseño dde el presente pagina web me
    resulta excelentemente atrayente. ¿Seria Posible aconsejarme mas o menos trufos de estilo y diseño?
    Cordialmente Agradecido.

  27. ¿Quee Tal? He estado siguiendo con atencion tu
    site por sobrado tiempo hasta la actualidad y por fin tengo el valentia de postear desde Castellon .Solamente me gustaria mencionarte que
    continues creando tan maravilloso labor!

  28. He estao investigando en la web al menos mas de 8 horas al dia, y jamas he descuberto un post
    tan abrumador como el tuyo. Me parece que es demasiado interesante.
    Desde mi punto de vista, si cada uno los webmasters y personas hiciern tan buen contenjdo
    web como eel que realizas, la red podria ser mucho mas agradable
    que lo que ees ahora.

  29. Que pasada!! Unos muy muy buenos puntos de opinion! Realmente
    apreciaria que tu colgases mas post ademas llos demas post de lla website es bastante grato.

  30. No me encuentro demasiado en armonia con lo que comunicas.
    Me Da La Impresion que ell escrito no resulkta muy informado.

  31. ¿Ciertamente piensas todo eso? ¿O unicamente te
    gustaria crear polemica para conseguir comentarios?
    No yo creo que sepas absolutamente nada del tematica que has apuntado.

  32. Con seguridad que este post ha sido revisado por la mayor parte de los usuarios del foro, de la web ya que es un atractivo columna parra la
    fabricacion de emergentes paginas web.

  33. Disfruto realmennte lo qque comentais.
    Esta muestra de post inteligente y una manera de reportear obvia!!

    Continuad posteando posts de modo tan sobresaliente tios, yo he incluido
    esto a mi personhal favoritos.

Leave a Reply

